In Memory of Robin Williams

Monday afternoon, I had gotten myself and my kiddo into the car to go pick my husband up from work. I started my car, and as usual, my radio was tuned to MSNBC on SiriusXM. The VERY first thing to come out of the speakers was, “And for any of our viewers just tuning in, we have just received breaking news that Robin Williams has been found dead at his Northern California home a few hours ago of an apparent suicide by asphyxiation.” I kid you not, I had to pick my jaw up off my lap and put it back on my face!

I’ve always loved Robin Williams. He’s always been one of my favorite comedians and actors. I wanted to scream at my radio the entire time we were driving down the freeway. I wanted to yell that this was a cruel joke and it wasn’t funny, even though I knew it wasn’t a joke at all. I wanted to cry, but I couldn’t. I was in so much shock all I could do was sit behind the wheel feeling dazed and robotic as I made my way through traffic.

My child is too young to really know who Robin Williams is or understand how much of an impact that one man has made on several generations of Americans. I’m not sure my son has even seen Aladdin! (I’m planning to rectify that situation this weekend, though.) He doesn’t know that the world’s funniest man EVER had just taken his own life. He could tell it was obviously a big deal to me because of my reactions, but he didn’t understand why.

Over the course of the evening, I kept thinking back to his movie, What Dreams May Come. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I’ll warn you that this video contains spoilers, but it’s still worth a watch.

This clip is so poignant in light of Robin Williams death. I can’t help but tear up watching it.

Robin Williams did so much good during his life, and no blog post or article would be complete without mentioning what he has contributed off-screen and off-stage. Besides his amazing comedic value, I believe it’s important to remember how generous Robin Williams was with both his time and his money. He supported several AIDS charities,  multiple cancer charities, and numerous children’s organizations. He was also a major USO contributor and a spokesman for St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital. A complete list of his charity work and causes can be found at looktothestars.org .

The world will not be the same now that Robin Williams has left us, but thanks to modern technology, we can always keep a piece of him with us and remember the best of him, as I’m sure he would have always wanted us to. His depression was a personal demon that he didn’t mind sharing with us, but it was his burden alone to bear. I believe Robin would have wished for the world to not dwell on the sadness of his passing, but rather on the laughter and joy he gave us. He would have wanted us to be happy and smile and only remember him at his best. This, I believe, is Robin Williams’ finest:

There are many other examples on YouTube of Robin Williams doing what he does best, but that is still my favorite!

Leave a Reply

