Come on, Mother Nature!

Help a sister out! I’m so tired of the heat! Can Autumn just be here already, so I can turn the air conditioning off and open my windows again? It’s getting stuffy in my house, and outdoors is borderline intolerable for me. This heat is exhausting, and even at night my bedroom is hot and sweltering. I want to be able to fling my windows open, place a fan or two in front of them, and enjoy a cool breeze fluttering through my house and cleansing out all of the stuffy air in here.

I can’t even use my oven right now. This is seriously cramping my cooking style. I’m so worried about adding extra heat to my already warm home that I’ve been avoiding cooking at all costs for the last week. I’m craving a homemade pot pie, and I don’t know of any other way to make one properly besides in a hot oven.

I’ve even taken to only wearing my coolest, most comfortable clothes to try to keep from overheating during my forays into the outside. Ugh! I want to wear my maxi dresses again, but they’re just too warm. I’ve lived in shorts and tank tops these last few days out of pure frustration with the temperatures.

I’m very much looking forward to this heat wave breaking. I want cooler temperatures during the day, and I want them to fall below 70º at  night. Also, would it be too much to ask for a few good rain showers, possibly a thunderstorm or two thrown in as well, for good measure?

Give me some of this, pretty please!

rain_lightning_purple1

4 thoughts on “Come on, Mother Nature!

  1. I’m totally with you on this one. I live in Spain and I’ve been dying from the heat for nigh on 4 months… I’m tired of hot sticky nights and days packed with sunshine beating down on all and sundry. I want it to SNOW – but here that just isn’t going to happen.

    Like

  2. It’s not really sticky here. We’re very arid, but this heat is still overwhelming. I used to live in a subtropical climate before moving here, though, and I know it’s way worse there, but I can’t take heat. I know I shouldn’t complain when I’ve got it good, now, but even this is still too much for me at the moment. I woke up cranky because I slept in a sweat puddle all night.

    Move to Switzerland. 🙂 You’ll have plenty of snow, then.

    Like

  3. I could not agree with you more. I am definitely over the Indian summer in California. The harvest moon has come and gone–fall has officially begun. Part of living in the Golden State is having some semblance of the four seasons, so if someone could tell the weather gods to send a cool spell our way, I would be most grateful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

