Anna, What Smells so Good?

I’ve got split pea and ham soup in my crock pot right now. It’s giving my house the most delicious aroma. I wish all of you could smell this fantastic scent that is the dinner currently simmering on low!

The temperature here has, thankfully, dropped from triple digits to lower-to-mid 80’s. I’m celebrating this with a delicious soup, hoping to coax the weather gods into giving us a nice Fall. I decided there was no better way to do so than with a classic Fall soup. Hence why I am making split pea and ham soup.

This soup is so incredibly easy to make, whether you do it in a slow cooker or on the stove.

Ingredients:
1 lb dried split peas
1 onion, diced
1 cup shredded carrots
2 TBSP diced garlic
1 lb ham (I chose a ham steak this time around, but you can use leftover ham or even loaf ham)
1 carton chicken broth
2-3 cups water (depending on how runny you want your finished product)
Salt & Pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in either a large pot on the stove or your crock pot. If cooking on the stove, simmer on low for approximately 30 minutes. If cooking in a crock pot, cook on low for 6 hours. (If you used a ham steak, like I did this time, you’ll need to break it apart at some point.) Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve.

Split Pea Soup

Tell me this doesn’t look delicious! OMG! I must go feast, now!

5 thoughts on “Anna, What Smells so Good?

  1. That is absolutely mouth-watering! Enjoy your soup, and my the Fall gods look down kindly upon your offering 🙂

    Your blog is looking adorable, by the way! Love the new change.
    – Jill @ kyaruandbunnies.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

