I’m Addicted to…

Shea Moisture shampoo and conditioner is fabulous! I’m so hooked on it, you have no idea! I went completely “no-poo” the beginning of this summer, but learned shortly after starting the adventure that my curly hair doesn’t like the baking soda and apple cider vinegar combo very much, so I switched to “low-poo” and bought myself Shea Moisture shampoo and conditioner.

I use the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention shampoo because when I started no-/low-poo, my hair was a dry mess and needed moisture badly. This cleanses my hair very gently without removing all of my natural sebum and moisturizes it as if I’d rubbed Aveeno lotion into it. I’m so crazy about this shampoo! It also smells amazing! I don’t know which essential oil in it gives it that soft, sweet scent, but I can’t get enough of it! I love it so much!

Shea Moisture Shea Butter Shampoo

I chose the Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Shine conditioner because my hair is curly and dry. I’d also started getting a lot of split ends, and that means it’s damaged, so I need something to heal and repair this damage in my hair. I love this conditioner because it rinses out nice and clean and leaves my hair soft and very manageable. It also smells like coconuts (who’da thunk, right?!) and coconut oil, which is one of the main ingredients, is very good for your hair.

Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Conditioner

I have seborrheic dermatitis, and I’m still trying to figure out how to get that under control with low-poo, but using medicated shampoos and following my doctor’s advice definitely wasn’t working. It was wrecking my hair and was doing nothing for my itching and flaking. This was originally why I switched from conventional shampoos and conditioners to the no-poo method. I finally put two-and-two together, that seborrheic dermatitis is an overgrowth of yeast on your scalp (amongst other places it can flourish) due to overproduction of sebum and skin cells. Since no-poo is basically a way of washing your hair that calms down sebum production, it should, theoretically, at least help the problem. However, I still have the horrible itch and burn, big chunks peeling off my scalp, and flakes all over. Now that I’ve gotten my sebum production in check, I need to figure out how to eradicate this yeast from my scalp. Short of dunking my head in a big vat of jock itch cream, I haven’t worked out exactly how to do that.

However, my hair itself has never looked better, and I’ve discovered a thousand new ways to nourish my hair by just using things found in my kitchen. When my hair would get coated in too much oil and my shampoo wouldn’t remove it, I’d whip up an egg wash to cut through the grime and clear it out. This has the added benefit of giving my hair more shine and providing some protein to it, which I think it was also lacking. You can also work in an applesauce mask, which is very nourishing to your hair, and coconut oil, which I love so much, is a great hair serum. I like to scrunch about a dime-sized amount into my towel-dried (still damp) hair after a shower to lock in moisture and help my curls form.

If you haven’t ever heard of the no-poo or low-poo methods, you should definitely head over to Google and start reading up on them. Not only are they better for your head, hair, and health, but they’re also easier on your wallet and the environment. It’s a huge plus, no matter how you look at it! There is even an amazing No-Poo Facebook group you can join that has a ton of information about it and all sorts of “files” you can read on it, and a great community who loves to help each other out with it.

Leave a Reply

