Well That Was More Intense Than We Planned!

My hubby and I went to the beach today. We left our kiddo with a sitter to have some us time today, planning on relaxing and enjoying the water a little bit.

Hubby got so beat up today, and I feel really badly for him. When we first got to the beach, we were just walking along the edge of the water, looking for interesting seashells. We managed to pick up quite a few interesting ones. I wanted to start a little seashell bowl to add as a decoration to my beach-themed bathroom. Anyway, at one point, we both spotted the same shell and tried to grab it and ended up knocking heads with each other. He was wearing his sunglasses on his head, and they dug into his forehead and scraped him really well when our heads met. It hurt!

Then, we decided to get into the water, which, by the way, wasn’t actually cold at all, for it being the first of October! We were having a pretty good time in the water. The waves weren’t high at all, and we were enjoying ourselves.  We did notice we kept getting pushed north, up the beach, so we got out of the water and walked further south before getting back in. At one point, a rather large wave broke right in front of us, so my hubby ducked way under to avoid getting hit full-on by a large wave. I ducked under right before the wave hit me, and my knee whacked my poor husband so hard right in the forehead that he now has a nice little knot there. He said he saw stars for a few moments, and I believe him, because my knee actually hurt!

Later on, we were out a little further where the water was mid-chest high when a couple large waves came in and I started to feel like I was being pulled away from the shore. My hubs and I had been sticking close together, holding onto each other, but I told him I was going back in to shore because that scared me. He acted like he wanted to stay, so I broke away from him and swam back in where the water was more shallow. All of the sudden, he started getting further away from me really fast and then said, “I can’t get back in. It keeps pulling me out!” I freaked. I was thinking that OH SHIT! The rip current got him. I could tell he was scared. Luckily, there were two paddle-boarders nearby, so I told them he needed help and that he was caught in a current and couldn’t get back in. They were awesome! They swam right out to him as fast as they could and got him on one of their boards. He was terrified.

So, I think it’s needless to say that he wanted to go home after that. He said he was done with the water, and I can’t blame him. It kind of sucks that he had such a crappy time at the beach. I wanted to have a nice, relaxed time. It turned out to be anything but that!

One thought on “Well That Was More Intense Than We Planned!

Leave a Reply

