A Stranger in Los Angeles

I’m not sure anyone would have that hard of a time visiting LA and acclimating to the local customs and traditions. I also don’t really know if there’s any local slang, beyond the fact that our interstates are all freeways, and you don’t call them “I-10” or “I-405” but rather “The 10” and “The 405.” Since we’re such a large city, it’s not usually hard to find something, somewhere that will make you feel at home.

The only issue I had when we moved here was the fact that people don’t seem to like it when you’re brutally honest and speak your mind. I’ve found that when you say exactly how you feel, that usually ends with major drama. Being the type of person who doesn’t sugar-coat anything, I think this is the hardest part of our move here. It’s harder than having to learn how to get from one place to another or anything else. It just seems that people in Los Angeles really do not like honesty, and they’d prefer little white lies over the cold, hard truth most of the time.

The only other thing that I can think of that might drive someone a little mad who visits here is the parking rules for some streets. Sometimes, they’re just so confusing, it’s better that you find somewhere else to park. Signs like this will leave you scratching your head for hours!

NoParkingSigns

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt.

So, tell me in the comments what would be the strangest thing about your town’s local customs, traditions, hangouts, or slang for a first-time visitor?

3 thoughts on “A Stranger in Los Angeles

  1. Oh, LA. I’m a native San Diegan and I visit LA frequently. The signs I agree are the worst part for someone visiting. I actually LOVE the 405, call me crazy but I don’t like to waste time “Sunday Driving” like a lot of people. When I’m in LA I have a mission…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

