I Don’t Care, and I Never Will

Apparently, there’s a huge hoopla going around the internet that atheists are giving Carrie Underwood some major shit over her latest hit, “Something in the Water.” Conservative Tribune has an article claiming “radical atheists” are pissed over it. The problem is, most of us don’t listen to her and don’t give a single damn about her or her music.

I know I can’t speak for everyone, least of all every atheist, but I’m quite comfortable in the fact that I myself couldn’t give one rat’s ass about what Carrie Underwood sings about or believes in. In fact, I wasn’t even aware that I was supposed to be outraged about her song until I saw an article on Patheos about it. I’m aware that Carrie is a Christian. This doesn’t bother me. I’m a “live and let live” type of person. Let her believe and sing as she chooses. I don’t like country music anyway, so I don’t hear her music. Her choice of topics doesn’t affect me at all.

The thing about this whole situation that bothers me, though, is the fact that these Christians love to try to find anything to point at and claim they’re being persecuted for their beliefs. This astounds me. How, in a world dominated by Christianity, can they still think and believe they’re being persecuted? Also, I can’t find a single person actually talking about her song and condemning her for talking about baptism and Jesus. Where is this so-called atheist anger?

See, the problem in this day and age with making up a story to justify your victim complex is that the internet exists and everyone can refute your story. Just because a faux news site posts a story on a flashy page claiming someone is doing something doesn’t make it true.

I don’t care. I never did. I never will. That’s the long and short of it.

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Care, and I Never Will

Leave a Reply

