I’m Your Resident Coffee and Wine Snob

I have learned both of these obsessions from my dear husband, and I thank him dearly for showing me the finer things in life! Not only am I snobbish about wine and coffee, but I’m a little peculiar about cheese. This practically brings my poor cheese-loving Swiss husband to tears. I can’t stand his favorite cheeses.

My coffee must be dark roast, preferably the darker, the better. We routinely drink French roast or espresso roast in our drip coffee maker. In fact, a couple of years ago we discovered this fantastic “deal” on coffee through Amazon: a 5 lb. bag of whole bean Italian espresso roast coffee. Yes, we consume this entire bag in a little over a month! It’s fantastic both as regularly brewed coffee and as a great espresso.

I’m also a huge wine snob. I can’t stand cheap wine! My favorite brand is a great bottle of Moët & Chandon. Of course, living a champagne lifestyle on a beer budget isn’t exactly an option for us, so I don’t get this very often; we get to indulge maybe twice a year. It’s worth it, though. I still want to try Veuve Clicquot. Since Veuve Clicquot is nearly twice the price of a bottle of Moët & Chandon around here, I still haven’t had the opportunity to taste it.

As far as cheese goes, I dislike all of the cheeses that smell and taste like sweaty socks. They gross me out. My husband loves a good Brie or Camembert, but I just want to hurl chunks smelling them! I like “normal” cheeses like cheddar, mozzarella, and parmesan. I’ve tried all of his “fancy” cheeses, as I call them, and cannot stomach the smell or flavor! I still buy them for him to enjoy, but I pass on them.

What are some things you’re snobbish about?

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt.

7 thoughts on “I’m Your Resident Coffee and Wine Snob

  1. I am a champagne girl, too. I’d murder a chilled flute of Piper Hiedsieck right now, in fact. Alas, like you, I’m suffering a beer budget. Still, there’s always the reasonable California alternative (Gloria Ferrer, for ex.).

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh. This reminds me of when I was young and we went to my father-in-law’s new home (he divorced my mother-in-law) with his new wife (mother-in-law #2?) Anyway, she was very worldly, quite a lovely lady. They taught us some new card games and she had trays of hors d’oeuvres and a cup of blue cheese and some other smelly cheese. I just about barfed! I could NOT believe that people would willingly put that smelly stuff in their mouths!

    Well, all these years later, I’m an old fart now, like they were back then and, somehow, somewhere along the way, I fell in love with blue cheese salad dressing and blue cheese. Sigh… Thanks for the memory! 😀

    Like

  3. Coffee, wine and cheese, they do make the world go ’round! On these items, everyone should be snobbish. Bad cuppa joe will RUIN your day! My husband is German-Chilean and is very particular about these three items AND chocolate! Great post, Miss Anna!

    Like

Leave a Reply

