Talk About Brutal!

I have got to get that PT referral going. There’s just no putting it off any longer! I think I’ve reached my personal breaking point. When I get to the point that I’m constantly having to drug myself up on pain relievers and muscle relaxers, it’s time to quit procrastinating and just get it done.

As you’re aware, I have Fibromyalgia. I spoke about this at length in a prior post. Well, not only do I have that, but I also have scoliosis, or curvature of the spine. I’ve been to a physical therapist once before, and he literally straightened me out over the course of about nine weeks, but it hurt like motherfucking hell every time he touched me. Yes, I did feel so much better afterwards, but I dread going back and doing it all over again because it was sheer torture to go through.

My particular PT involved ultrasound massage, which is a misnomer, if you want my honest opinion. It isn’t massage at all, because the word “massage” implies relaxation and something that feels pleasant. This isn’t anything like that. It involves the therapist taking a hard metal ultrasound wand and rubbing it roughly across your back while applying a decent amount of pressure. For a person with Fibro who has many pressure points on her back, this is excruciating. The least unpleasant part of my appointments was always after the massage, when he’d perform manual subluxation, just like a chiropractor.

Currently, I have a pinched nerve somewhere in my back or neck that is causing pain to shoot up from the left side of the base of my skull. I spent last night tossing and turning, in extreme pain, and when I got up this morning I took a full Flexeril and a diclofenac. That’s always a sign I’m doing pretty badly. I never take a whole Flexeril unless I can’t take the pain any longer. I’ve actually been taking quite a few full doses, so I’ve burned through almost my entire bottle a lot faster than I normally would, and this is going to present a few problems in a few days if I don’t call my doctor and ask her to re-write me a script for it, because I’ll be asking for a refill too soon, and there’s a pretty good chance my insurance will deny it if I don’t.

I spent the entire day today in bed. I got home from taking my hubs to work and crashed. Hard. I crashed so fast, I didn’t even get my bra taken off, and I don’t normally sleep in that because the underwire is extremely uncomfortable! I slept from 8 this morning until roughly 1 this afternoon, when I woke up hungry and decided to take Taco Bell up on that offer for a free Doritos Locos taco if you use their mobile app to place an order.

So, that’s where I’ve been. Sleeping.

Leave a Reply

