What the Whaaaaat?! (And a Chili Recipe, Too!)

Break out the cake! Queue up celebratory music!

I realized today that I’ve reached a very important milestone with my blog. I’m so excited, because this is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and I’ll never see this again, so I need to stop and take a moment to revel in the glory that is… I’ve reached 69 posts on this blog!

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 8.45.49 AM

Go ahead. Laugh. It’s all in good fun, and I’m always one to find the humor in the most inappropriate places, so let’s have fun with this one!


Now, I want to take a moment to talk about my amazing chili. I’ve currently got a pot of this amazing concoction simmering on my stove, since it’s winter, and I thought my readers would enjoy a great chili recipe, today.

Ingredients:
1 lb dry kidney beans, soaked overnight
1 onion, diced
1 large bell pepper, diced
1 large can petite diced tomatoes
3 little bitty cans tomato sauce (it’s just cheaper to buy tomato sauce this way!)
4-5 cups of water, depending on how thick/runny you want your chili
1 lb ground turkey
2 TBSP olive oil
2 heaping spoonfuls minced garlic (from a jar) or 2 cloves garlic, minced
chili powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper to taste

Directions:
I know I already mentioned it, but you need to start this the night before you plan on making it, because you’ll need to soak your beans overnight. Don’t worry if you forget, though, because your bean package should come with directions for a “quick soak.”
Drain your beans and then put them in your stock pot. Add in all of your veggies and water. Start the heat under your pot while you start browning your meat. Once you’ve browned your meat, add it, juices and all, to your chili pot, and add in your oil and spices. Your chili will taste bland still. Don’t over-do the spices, because as it cooks, the chili powder will really come out. I don’t really know how much to tell you to put in – I always eyeball it, but I’d say to start with roughly 1/4 cup.
Simmer your chili on low all. frickin. day. I’m serious about this! The longer it simmers on low heat, the better it’ll taste. So, you’ll want to do this first thing in the morning and just stir it randomly throughout the day. By dinnertime, you’ll have the best chili on the planet.

Optional: If you want spicy chili, buy a few jalapeños, dice them up, and add them into your chili when you put in all of the other vegetables. You can also add extra cayenne to your chili and even some smoked paprika, if you have it on hand and want a slightly smokey flavor. If you like cornbread with your chili, you can make a pan of it and feast like a Southern King!

My husband raves about my chili! Yours will, too, once you make this! It’s so much better than anything you can buy in a can, and the leftovers taste great over some french fries with diced onions and cheddar cheese on top.

ChiliandCornbread

 

Leave a Reply

