Ahhhhhhh, January!

January is officially here in SoCal. We have the gloomy smog and morning fog and marine layer to prove it. I’ve noticed something about January’s around here, since this is my second new year spent in Los Angeles, and that is that January is when everything starts looking really damn ugly.

It seems that, for the most part, Santa Ana winds and off-shore breezes keep smog from collecting in the inland basin through much of the late fall and early winter, but when January hits, everything seems to stagnate over us, and a deep layer of nasty smog settles in. I remember last year, we actually had an air advisory which mandated that people not burn anything in their fireplaces or grills unless they were low-income and needed to do so for warmth, because our air had gotten so thick, grimy, and nasty that any added housing exhaust like this would exacerbate breathing issues people had.

LA-Smog-Sues-EPA-03-537x405

This picture doesn’t even do our January smog layer justice!

I’m one of the people living here who really enjoys looking at the Foothills as I’m driving or even outside walking, and this smog makes that impossible. You can’t see anything. I’d venture to say that it reduces visibility to a mile. Our mountains are beautiful, and that is why I hate our January smog. I want to be able to gawk at them, and when smog obscures them, it makes me feel gloomy.

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt.

2 thoughts on “Ahhhhhhh, January!

  1. The LA smog is legendary. I grew up in San Diego and I don’t remember the smog too much. I live in the central valley of Northern Cal and this is the time of year when we get the tule fog that sits over the valley like a gray gargoyle. Only with rainy days or a trip to the foothills can you escape the fog. January is kind of ugly everywhere in California!

    Like

    1. I haven’t really seen much of any other part of California, so this is all I know. I guess I can take a little comfort in knowing that it’s ugly for everyone, not just us Angelenos. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

