June Gloom and Brain Fog

June is officially here in Southern California. It’s cloudy and drizzling this morning. I feel like starting a pot of chili, which is weird to me, considering it’s almost summer and it’s supposed to be hot, not cool! I may do that, if I can make it to the store and remember everything I need!

I went grocery shopping yesterday. I didn’t want to, but it needed to be done. I’ve been such a hot mess these last few days. I don’t know what I did to myself, but my whole body had staged a revolt against me, and wasn’t really up for a shopping trip. But, we were almost out of food in this house and I had to get something for us to eat. It’s hard on days like that, because when my fibromyalgia flares, my brain usually goes on vacation, too. So, I was walking (or rather, stumbling) through the grocery store, trying to figure out what to get. I had settled on a few meals, two of which were chicken salad croissants and my version of carbonara. I got all my groceries, got checked out, got them home and out of the car, and then I realized I had forgotten the celery for the chicken salad. I forgot the freakin’ celery! There are like 5 ingredients in chicken salad. How could I forget one of the main ones?!

So, I get to go back to the store today. Luckily, I’m not feeling half as shitty as I did yesterday. I think the fact that my hubs made sure I kept on top of taking my NSAID helped a lot. I also have so much to do around the house, because the past few days I’ve spent curled into a ball on our couch. I don’t like it when I fall behind on housework, because housework is the type of thing that doesn’t just stop when you don’t do it. It just ends up stacking up on you, and before you know it, you’re buried in a sea of laundry, dishes, and vacuuming! This is even worse when you have fibro, because then, when you’ve started feeling better and can actually do the work, there is so much for you to do, that you end up overdoing it and sending yourself right back into another flare. It’s almost a vicious cycle if you’re not careful about pacing yourself, which I’m not!

Also, my kiddo broke out in a cold sore over the weekend and I think he gave it to my poor husband. We’ve been pretty fortunate, so far. Kiddo had his first cold sore at 5, and hasn’t had one since, but his lip erupted again this past Saturday. He has his cold sores inside his mouth, on his gums or inside of his lip. Well, my poor hubby woke up this morning with what looks like a blister on his lower lip, so even though we tried to be super-careful about washing our hands and using Purell whenever we touched our child, it seems he caught it anyway. Which means I’ll probably get it as well. I don’t want cold sores! Those hurt! I don’t like pain!

I need to get on my housework, though. If I sit here typing much longer, I’ll have myself convinced I need a nap instead, and I can’t do that! Not today! I have a ton of work to do!

Leave a Reply

