Dear Migraine:

Why did you have to creep up on me in the middle of the night and blast me with waves of pain and nausea? Don’t you know I need to sleep, not toss and turn all night? What makes you think I even wanted you to visit? Haven’t you gotten the hint from all of the medications I’ve tried that I’m sick of you and am damn near willing to medicate you out of existence, if I can? Go away! I don’t like you! I don’t like your throbbing, searing pain. I don’t like your uncontrollable nausea. I don’t like your sensitivity to light and sound. I don’t like YOU!

I have things to do, places to be, work to accomplish. I don’t have the time or energy to deal with you. Right now, if a magic genie-in-a-bottle showed up and told me he’d grant me one wish, I would wish to banish you to the lowest level of hell so you never return!

– Your desperate victim

We’ve had over-cast, rainy weather the past couple of days. Every time we have a storm or system blow in, I get a migraine. My head does not like changes in barometric pressure. I knew, when I looked at the weather a few days ago and realized this system was going to blow in, that I’d get at least one migraine. It was just a matter of when, not if. Last night/this morning, it finally reared its ugly head.

I stumbled across this article about migraine sufferers yesterday in my Facebook feed, and I can relate to a lot of what it says. Some of the statements don’t apply to me, but like it states at the beginning, not all migraines are the same for all people. Everyone’s experiences with migraines are different. For instance, my migraines usually always happen on the right side of my head, either at the base of my skull or near my temple. The pain feels like someone has a red-hot knife jabbed into my skull and is trying to pry it open. It’s a searing, throbbing, dull yet strong pain.

I can take Excedrin Migraine for it, but that doesn’t always do a lot for me. Sometimes it relieves the pain after a few hours. Sometimes it relieves all of the symptoms. Other times, like today, it doesn’t do a damn thing for me! I’ve tried all of the “interrupter” medications for migraines, like Imitrex and Maxalt. They make me feel like the muscles in my neck and shoulders are seizing up and they make me grit and grind my teeth. I really, really don’t like those very unpleasant sensations. I would honestly rather just deal with my migraine than take those. I have found that Topamax gives me a lot more migraine-free days, but I don’t think Topamax can do anything for pressure-induced attacks.

So, I’ll deal with this migraine. I’ll crawl back into my bed with the windows covered and lie as still as possible. Hopefully, the pain will subside. This is the ONLY thing that truly works for my migraines – lying still in a cool, dark, quiet room and focusing on making every muscle in my body relax as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

