Wiggle, Wiggle

Shortly after my alarm went off this morning, we had an earthquake here. It wasn’t much by the time it reached where we live, but I definitely noticed it. I heard it before I felt it, because it sounded like a big gust of wind hit our outside wall and made it crack and groan, and then our bed started to shake slightly. The shaking felt like my dog was scratching an itch near her tail and really getting into it, but she was snuggled up sleeping still.

I had time to open my ABC7 news app on my iPhone and look at the QuakeCam they have on there, and when I first started the live feed, it was still, but within a few seconds, it started jiggling all over. It took a few minutes for all of the local news stations to start reporting on it, but the comments people have written on Facebook have been positively epic! Props to this guy. It’s my favorite.

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 9.52.17 AM

A lot of people are freaking out because it happened during El Niño storms. I don’t understand the superstition thinking behind that, but I’ll let them have their panic attacks, if that’s what they really want. Speaking of El Niño, we had a nice, long rain yesterday, and it’s already raining again this morning. I had time to run down to the laundry room and wash some rugs before the rain hit, so I’m glad I got it done first thing this morning. I’m not going to attempt any more loads of laundry today, because they’ll just get drenched on their way back to my apartment from the laundry room. I want a washer/dryer in my apartment, dammit!

Just for your amusement, I’ll leave you with this screenshot I took of the ABC7 QuakeCam.

QuakeCam

Leave a Reply

