Crêpes Galore!

I have made so many crêpes this past week that I’m honestly surprised I’m not sick of them yet! Since getting my handy-dandy crêpe skillet at Aldi, I’ve made cheese and fruit crêpes four different ways – with strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries – I’ve made nutella and fruit crêpes with both bananas and strawberries, and I’ve made chicken florentine crêpes. I have fallen in love with crêpes.

IMG_3721

I found an easy, fool-hardy recipe for crêpes that is so insane in its simplicity that I wonder why it took me so long to attempt them. To be honest, I was a little intimidated by crêpes because I always thought they were some crazy-hard food to master making, but the opposite is true. While you can mess it up, if you know how to cook at all, you should be able to do a fairly decent job on your first try. Really! If you’ve been scared of crêpes, don’t be.

So, this recipe is made in your blender and you’ll need a good few hours to let it rest, but that’s it. I like to mix my crêpe batter up before bed and then leave it in the fridge until morning.

Ingredients:
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1 cup water
6 Tbsp melted butter
2 cups flour
Room temperature butter to coat skillet

Directions:
Place all ingredients in your blender and pulse, scraping the sides of your blender pitcher as necessary to remove residual flour. Let rest at least 4 hours or overnight, the longer the better.

When you’re ready to make your crêpes, heat a good unscratched non-stick skillet or crêpe skillet over medium-high heat and brush with a little butter using a silicone spatula. Pick your skillet up and tilt it. Pour your batter into the middle of the skillet slowly, tilting it around until a light layer has coated the entire bottom surface.

When the sides of your crepe start pulling away from the edge of the skillet and the top surface of the crêpe has turned from glossy to matte, it’s time to flip it. Work your silicone spatula under your crêpe gently until you have it half-way under the crêpe. Flip. Let the crêpe cook on this side for only 10-15 seconds and then slide it off onto a plate.

Repeat until you’ve used all your crêpe batter. This should make around 10 crêpes. If you have a non-stick skillet, you shouldn’t need anymore butter, but if you are using a stainless steel skillet, you’ll want to add a little more butter between crêpes.

Fill your crêpes with whatever filling you’d like and enjoy!

If you have leftover crêpes, you can slip parchment paper between them and then place them in a gallon freezer bag and freeze or refrigerate them. To reheat, simply pop them in the microwave for a few seconds. For a refrigerated crêpe, I only needed 15 seconds in my 900 watt microwave to get it steamy-hot again.

One thought on “Crêpes Galore!

Leave a Reply

