Well…

I took an unannounced hiatus for a couple of weeks. I spent some time volunteering for my main man, Bernie Sanders, and the rest of the time I spent royally fucking myself up. I finally dragged my ass to the doctor today over it, and came home with a laundry list of things I can’t do for X weeks. I also have a pretty little ace bandage wrapped around my rag-doll right ankle.

It comes as no surprise to me, but my doctor kindly informed me today that my ankle is loose and floppy. I already knew that, but she didn’t seem to like that too much. She wants me braced for gawd-knows-how-long, but I’ll compromise and brace it until my inversion sprain heals. I’m actually fairly used to my loose joints. As a kid, I went through a period where every step I took my legs would pop. Somehow, I managed to get this sprain while walking to my bedroom to go to bed one night. I guess I put my foot down wrong as I was walking and it rolled slightly, and I felt a small pop inside. It did occur to me that I probably had sprained my ankle just then, but since it wasn’t painful and bothering me at the time, I kind of filed that into the back of my brain in the folder labeled, “Shit I might want to remember later, so I had better not forget.” The next morning it started to bother me, though, and ever since then, anytime I do a lot of walking or standing on my feet for a good length of time, it really starts to hurt.

I also managed to get bursitis in my knee while cleaning out my fridge a few days ago. Don’t ask me how that happened, but I guess it has something to do with kneeling for long periods and/or crawling on my knees. So, I have orders not to get down on my knees for three weeks to give my bursa time to heal. I honestly don’t know how that happened, but I can say that compared to most people, I have always been very uncomfortable kneeling. My doctor also mentioned that my kneecap isn’t located in the right spot on my knee, which leaves my bursa slightly more exposed, so that could explain my extreme discomfort during kneeling activities. Either way, I won’t be getting down on the floor for a few weeks.

A few weeks ago, my hubby and I went to a Bernie Sanders rally in Irvine. It was amazing! We met some really cool people and we got to hear the most honest man in American politics speak to us. We arrived at 11 so we could get a spot in line close to the front, and we ended up waiting until almost 3 in that line to get into the arena. The wait was worth it, though.

13221143_10153505701771135_3159827211754771245_o

This crazy guy was there for the longest time, but eventually packed up and left. I guess he was some sort of street preacher, there to warn us of our sins or some bullshit like that, but the most he got out of anyone was a laugh or whispers about how insane he is. For a while, he was walking up and down our line, but the security eventually put him behind these plastic barriers. I guess even they were sick of him harassing people.

13235678_10153506392276135_3624239335190911529_o

I know the picture quality isn’t the best, but even though we were seated close to the front, I still had to zoom in, in order to get a good picture of Bernie while he was speaking to us. If you had the opportunity to go to one of his rallies but you didn’t, you really missed out on a huge experience. Besides hearing Bernie speak, you get to meet so many other, different people who think just like you do, you get to hear other inspiring speakers, like Nina Turner or Cenk Uygur, and you leave with priceless memories that can never be topped by any other experience. Even though I felt like I was about to die by the end of the rally because I was in so much pain, I don’t regret going for a split second.

Leave a Reply

